New website coming soon!

Navigation Icon
Login Icon
Phone Icon
Mail Icon

Please tap to call: 020 8769 3294 Triangle Triangle

Key Stage 5 Health and Social Care

Across Year 12 and 13 students undertake the BTEC National Diploma which is equivalent to two A-Levels.  A level 3 qualification in Health and Social Care allows students to develop the skills and personal qualities needed to work within the industry or to progress onto further education.  Assessment is 100% coursework and takes the form of presentations, posters, videos, leaflets, research projects etc.  This course is vocational in nature and as such students will be given opportunities to visit health and social care settings, receive talks from professionals in the sector and will be encouraged to organise their own volunteer placements.

Year 12

In Year 12 students cover core units which provide learners with the opportunity to consider specific health and social care roles and settings.  Core units include: Unit 1: Developing effective communication in Health and Social Care, Unit 2: Equality, diversity and rights in Health and Social Care, Unit 4: Development through the life stages and Unit 5: Anatomy and Physiology for Health and Social Care.  As a course requirement students also undertake 100 hours of work experience which is carried out over 3 weeks at the end of the summer term.  This is an excellent opportunity for students to apply work-related skills and gain on the job experience.

Year 13

In Year 13 core units include Unit 7: Sociological perspectives in Health and Social Care and Unit 3: Health, safety and security in health and social care.  Within unit 3 students are given the opportunity to undertake an accredited manual handling qualification and gain experience in first aid emergency lifesaving skills.  Additional units include, Unit 12: Public health, Unit 20: Promoting health education and Unit 24: Introduction to counselling skills for health and social care contexts.