Quick Links

Useful Links

Bishop Thomas Grant School


Below is a list of the Bishop Thomas Grant School Governors.  On the links you will find further information, including business interests for, 2018/192019/20  and 2021/22 and 2020/21 attendance records.


Resource Committee Curriculum Committee Ethos Committee Admissions Student Behaviour Pay Committee


Mr S Beck


Mr R Bowdery


Mr D O'Donovan


Ms K Robinson


Ms K Robinson


Mr S Beck

Mr R Bowdery Ms K Robinson Ms Z Shiripinda Ms Z Shiripinda Ms Z Shiripinda Mr R Bowdery
Ms K Robinson Ms B Boyle Ms K Robinson     Mr S Fernandes
Ms Z Shiripinda  Mrs M Cook Mrs M Cook      
Mr D O'Donovan Ms M O'Donohue Fr A Cassidy      
Ms B Boyle   Ms M O'Donohue      
Mr S Fernandes          
SLT/Observer SLT/Observer SLT/Observer SLT/Observer SLT/Observer SLT/Observer



Ms S Thompson (DH)    
  Mr M Todd (DH)        


Bishop Thomas Grant School Governing Board reconstituted on 1st January 2015.

The Governing Board comprises 12 Governors: 7 Foundation Catholic Governors, 2 elected Parent Governors, 1 elected Staff Governor, the Headteacher, 1 Local Authority Governor.

Foundation Governors appointed by the Catholic Diocese of Southwark

Mr Stephen Beck

Chair of Governors and Chair of Resources Committee

Term of office 4 years (31.8.18 - 30.8.22)

Mr Stephen Beck has served several terms of office on the Governing Board of Bishop Thomas Grant School. He sees it as a privilege to be able to continue supporting the school as it moves forward under the leadership of Ms Boyle. He is married with four grown up children, two of whom attended BTG and he worships in St Andrew’s Parish Thornton Heath. He qualified as a primary teacher in 1971 and has been the Headteacher of two very successful primary schools seeing them through a total of five Ofsted inspections, with his most recent school having been designated as a Teaching School and rated as Outstanding.  He is a National Leader in Education and now undertakes a range of consultancy and voluntary work and is a registered Section 48 School Inspector for two Diocese.  He is also a Governor at a local maintained primary school and Chair of the Advisory Board of a 3 to 16 Independent School.

Ms Kathy Robinson

Joint Vice Chair of Governors and Vice Chair of Curriculum Committee.

Term of office 4 years (1.9.18 - 31.8.22)

Kathy has been a Governor at Bishop Thomas Grant School for twenty years, following a career in Education in the Southwark diocese.  She is currently co- vice chair having previously served as chair for eight years, and is the link Governor for Religious Education & Safeguarding.  Kathy also serves on the Diocesan Inter- Religious committee  & the Diocesan on Going Formation of priests committee.   In 2015 she was awarded an MBE for services to Education.

Fr Anthony Cassidy

Term of office 4 years extended (4.5.19 to 5.12.23) (resigned February 2022)

Fr Anthony Cassidy is a Redemptorist priest.  For several years he taught Sacred Scripture at the Franciscan Study Centre in Canterbury.  At the moment he is the Parish Priest at St Matthew's, West Norwood.

Mrs Mary Cook

Vice Chair of Ethos Committee, Joint Vice Chair of Governors

Term of office 4 years (13.3.21 to 12.3.25)

Mary Cook has lived in St Bartholomew's parish since the early 70's and throughout that time has been connected with the school apart from a short break when her children were small.  She taught Business Studies at Bishop Thomas Grant and also at St Francis Xavier College.  Her own children attended both Bishop Thomas Grant and St Francis Xavier College.

Ms Ziyanai Shiripinda 

Term of office 4 years (26.3.19 to 25.3.23)

Ms Ziyanai Shiripinda is a Foundation Governor passionate about pupil attainment in all spheres of the curriculum as well as health and well-being. She believes in promoting the ethos of the church and school to prepare pupils to have fulfilling lives. She brings expertise in corporate governance, financial management and leadership to the governing board drawn from experiences in the financial sector, local authorities, health and social care and third sector services.

Ms Marian O’Donohue

Term of office 4 years (25.9.18 to 24.9.22)

Marian O'Donohue is a member of English Martyrs parish and was recently appointed as a foundation governor.  Her connections with Bishop Thomas Grant school go back over many years and her professional background is in education so she brings a broad range of experience.   She is looking forward to working with her  fellow governors to support and challenge the staff and students of the school to be the best they can be in a safe and happy environment so that each member of the school community can maximize their potential.    

Mr Savio Fernandes

Elected Parent Governor

Term of office 4 years (18.10.19 to 17.10.23)

Mr Savio Fernandes was elected parent governor at BTG in 2015, the year his daughter joined the school. His main focus is making sure that our children receive the best education and opportunities in school. He is a member of the Resources Committee. He has two children and was a past  pupil of the school. 

He is focused, objective, conscientious and impartial even in difficult situations.  He brings his senior management experience, skills and enthusiasm to the existing board, with a background in the not for profit sector and local government. 

He is an active parishioner at St Bartholomew’s Church, Norbury and enjoys sharing and continuing to learn about his faith, by having being a confirmation catechist for the past 20 year. 

Mrs Nicola St Louis

 Elected Parent Governor

Term of office 4 years from (18.10.19 to 17.10.23)

Nichola St Louis is a parent governor at the school, with one child currently at the school.  She works full-time as a barrister, being a criminal QC as well as a part time Judge.  Throughout her career she has mentored junior barristers, especially those from minority groups and has also been instrumental in chairing, setting up and overseeing committees to provide opportunities and advice to junior barristers

She is a parishioner at St Thomas More Church in Dulwich.

Mr D O’Donovan

Elected Staff Governor

Chair of Ethos Committee Term of office 4 years (1.11.19 to 31.10.23)  

Ms Bernadette Boyle


Mr Roger Bowdery

 Local Authority Governor

Chair of Curriculum Committee and Vice Chair of Resources Committee

Term of office 4 years (2.11.19 - 1.11.23)

Mr Roger Bowdery has been a Lambeth school governor since 1977, on the board of BTG for several years and established his own Education Consultancy in 1991. He was for five years Chair of Governors of another leading Lambeth secondary school. In 1993 he qualified as an Ofsted school inspector and has been a member of the Lambeth Independent Education Appeals Panel since 1995. He was Education Advisor to the Minister of Housing and Planning 2003-2005. Since 2015 he has been a member of Lambeth Schools Forum. He is also a Committee Member of the South London Council of Christians & Jews, the Chair of Trustees of the Woodlawns Centre/Streatham Darby & Joan Club and the organiser of the annual Streatham Armistice Day Remembrance Service at Streatham War memorial. He is a recipient of a London Borough of Lambeth Civic Award for services to education and the community and is a widower with two adult sons.

Copyright © 2022 Legal Information | Website Design: Greenhouse School Websites